III Symfonia

What would I do, if I were to judge, that art does not affect life? I would probably graze sheep … Or maybe I would shoot myself in the head? If I only believed in the worst of a human being? But there is also the best in a man. If I had no hope? Indeed – breed frogs, breed cows … I believe that there is something that helps us survive, helps us to understand other person. What comforts us, gives us a moment of reflection … This is what art is. (Henryk Mikołaj Górecki)

“III Symfonia” is another of Janusz Orlik’s creative interpretation of the relationship between music and dance after Igor Stravinsky’s “The Rite of Spring” and “Koda (a tribute)” with Krzysztof Komeda’s music. Henryk Mikołaj Górecki’s composition was created in 1976 and has become one of the composer’s most recognizable works. The symphony consists of three movements and, in accordance with the composer’s intention, the piece is presented in its entirety. Krzysztof Penderecki called Górecki’s work “the most sincere music possible”.

Janusz Orlik, a performer, choreographer. His own choreographic works include “Exérèse monobloc”, “and thy neighbour as thyself”, “Live on stage”, “The Rite of Spring”, “Mute”, “Insight”, “Koda (a tribute)” and “III Symfonia”. Since 2002 Janusz has been a regular member of Vincent Dance Theatre (UK). In 2021 he became an artistic supervisor of Teatr Klucz in Poznań (PL). He collaborated with Joanna Leśnierowska, Nigel Charnock, Rosalind Crisp, Isabelle Schad among others.


  • Choreografia i reżyseria: Interpretation: Janusz Orlik
  • Wykonanie: Janusz Orlik - taniec, choreografia
  • Muzyka: Henryk Mikołaj Górecki, III Symfonia „Symfonia pieśni żałosnych” na sopran solo i orkiestrę op. 36
  • Reżyseria świateł: Janusz Orlik, Grzegorz Polak
  • Opieka artystyczna: wsparcie rezydencyjne: Materia w Łodzi
  • Produkcja: Centrum Kultury w Lublinie / Przestrzenie Sztuki. Taniec, Janusz Orlik
62 min